22-23 Wrestling Season

Posted on 03/17/2023

The West Perry wrestling team had a significant 22-23 season. The team earned the title of Peco Champs, placed second in the District Team Tournament, and were State Team Tournament Qualifiers. The team also placed in the top three at the Trojan Wars and the Carlisle Tournament. Even better, the team claimed the first Mid-Penn division championship for the program since 1992.

Not only did the team as a whole have a successful season, but so did many individual athletes. The following wrestlers were sectional champions: Jackson Rush, Blain Puchalsky, Ty Morrison, Tucker Zeigler, and Nolen Zeigler. In addition to the sectional champions being district qualifiers, so were: Cayden Sleva, Ashtyn Leigh, Quade Boden, Carter Nace, and Justice Hockenberry. Rush and N. Zeigler then went on to win the title of District Champions as well. Leigh, Hockenberry, Puchalsky, Nace, Morrison, Zeigler, and Boden were also Regional Qualifiers.

At the end of the season, the following athletes were also PIAA State Qualifiers: Rush, Puchalsky, Morrison, Zeigler, Hockenberry, and Boden. Each athlete did a fantastic job at States, but the athletes to bring home medals were Ty Morrison with 6th place and Justice Hockenberry with 7th. Marty Morrison also placed 7th at the girl's state wrestling tournament. Congratulations on your season, Mustangs, and keep up the hard work! 

Written by The Whip staff member Aurianna Hocker